How to enable and use the Slack integration

Like other integrations, you need to be an admin in order to enable the Slack integration.

The Slack integration allows you to define rules in Front that automatically post notifications to Slack, and manually send messages to Slack. From Slack, you can use Message Menu buttons to archive or re-open a message, assign it to another Front teammate, or move it to another Front inbox.


Step 1

Go into your Settings and select API & Integrations. Scroll down the list, and click on Slack. 

Step 2

Turn the toggle on to enable Slack. Click Sign in to Slack and link your account. This will allow Front to post as a bot in your Slack organization.

Step 3

Click Save to finish enabling the Slack integration.

Step 4

You now have two options to send messages to Slack - create a rule to automate it, or do it manually.

Step 5

To create a rule, go into your Settings, select Rules, and Add a team rule

Step 6

Set up your conditions (more information can be found in the Understanding rules article), and choose the action Send to Slack (listed in the Then section). You will be able to send a notification to a specific Slack channel or to a specific user.

Step 7

To send to Slack manually, click the three dots in the top right corner of a message, and select Send to Slack.

Step 8 

The first time a teammate opens the menu, they will be prompted to link their Slack account. Afterwards, they will be able to add a comment and choose a destination channel. When you're done, click Post.

Step 9

Your message will appear in the Slack channel you selected.
Note

You also have the option to use Slack Message Menus to take action on your Front messages from Slack. When this option is turned on, any member of the Slack channel where you’ve sent the message can assign, move, re-open, or archive the message directly from Slack. 

Message Menus are enabled at the company level for Front accounts — so your admin will choose whether this functionality is enabled for every message sent to Slack by anyone on your Front team, or not enabled for anyone.

If enabled, anyone in the channel can use message menus to choose a teammate to assign the message to or move it to another inbox. The Archive button will dynamically change to Re-open if the message has been archived. All your actions will be synced with Front in real time.

You can turn off this functionality at any time in your Slack integration settings.

Reply
Reply
reply to topic
Like Follow
  • 8 mths agoLast active
  • 3243Views
  • 1 Following

Welcome to the Front community!

Whether you're already a Front customer or interested in becoming one, this is your place to come together and discuss the software, register for webinars, and get support from our help center.

If at any point you need assistance, don't hesitate to email us at team@frontapp.com.